Skip to main content

Political Science 394: Policing, Imprisonment, and Politics (#polimppol): Articles and Reference Sources

Statistical Resources

For Statistical Assistance, please see the following page from Dr. Rob O'Reilly in ECDS:

http://guides.main.library.emory.edu/EDC_POLS

 

What is a Scholarly Journal?

Scholarly journals review submitted articles before they are published. Many professors require students to use scholarly journal articles as resources when writing research papers. For tips on locating scholarly journals and evaluating Internet sources, please see our FAQ on scholarly journals.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search tool from Google, separate from its main search engine, with its own URL (http://scholar.google.com). Its purpose (says Google) is “to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.”

Google Scholar is an excellent resource BUT it does not always connect to Emory sources. A book or journal article may be in the library. Never purchase purchase an item without checking. Remember you can also borrow items from other libraries for free.

Oxford Criminology Reference

Oxford Bibliographies: Criminology reviews the literature in criminology  including topics such as capital punishment. Written by experts in the field. An excellent way to get started.

Finding Journal Articles

IMPORTANT DATABASES

Topics in criminology and the miscarriage of justice have many aspects including sociological, psychological, public policy, religious, etc. Following is a list of some of the major databases and indexes relevant to this topic. Many of these databases have direct links to full-text either through hyperlinks or the Find it at Emory button. Always check the eJournals page and EUCLID before assuming that the library does not have an electronic version of the source. Make sure to look at the Research Guides page to find related research guides such as SOCIOLOGY and PSYCHOLOGY. Connect to the libraries for the School of Law, Health Sciences, Goizueta Business School, and Pitts Theology for more information on specialized resources available in those fields.

The following two databases are the most important for sociology and cover this topic. While there is overlap between the two, each has much unique material:

  • Sociological Abstracts (1952-date)
    Indexes and abstracts the international literature in sociology and related fields. Covers almost 2000 journals, plus relevant dissertation listings, abstracts of conference papers, and selected books. This is a smaller, more academic database with more foreign language material than SocINDEX. A print edition of this title is available at Ref. HM 1.S6.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text (1895-date)
    Indexes and abstracts over 2500 journals, conference papers, and relevant books and dissertations in sociology and related fields. Includes some popular literature. Includes additional full-text for many (but not all) citations. Provides deep historical coverage for major journals, e.g. American Journal of Sociology is indexed back to 1895.

Another important database for the political spects of crime and justice is

Political Science Complete

  • Political Science Complete (PSC) contains full text for over 450 journals, and indexing and abstracts for nearly 2,100 titles, (including top-ranked scholarly journals).

Another important database for the behavioral aspects of crime and justice is

  • PsycINFO (1807-present)
    Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines. Includes journals of interest to sociologists but not covered in the standard sociology databases, e.g. Law and Human Behavior. Coverage is worldwide and includes references and abstracts to over 1300 journals in over 20 languages, and to English language books and book chapters.

To cover the legal issues use

  • HEIN ONLINE  Full-text searchable database of over 150 legal periodicals. Scope varies for different publications and latest years are not usually covered; see the journal list on the website for details.

NOTE: Lexis-Nexis offers many specialized databases including  Proquest Congressional and others which include material on capital punishment, emphasizing public policy and legal issues. Lexis-Nexis has also produced a bibliography on capital punishment drawing from their various resources.

Also use:

  • PAIS International/Public Affairs Information Service (1915-present)
    Indexes books, periodicals and selected local, state, national, and international government documents in the areas of public policy, social policy and the social sciences. PAIS Archive can also be searched separately. Both files can be searched simultaneously.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1956-present)
    Part of the Web of Knowledge, the Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) is a multidisciplinary database. SSCI allows you to search not only by key words from an article's title but also by authors who have been cited in an article's bibliography. This is called citation searching. If you know a key article on your topic or an important author, this is often a very effective way to search. When you first connect to the Web of Knowledge, you can search the entire database or restrict your search to SSCI. A print version covering 1969-1993 is available at Ref. Z7161.S65.

 

Subject Librarian

Chris Palazzolo's picture
Chris Palazzolo
Contact:
226 Woodruff Library

Emory University

Atlanta, GA 30322

404-727-0143 (phone)

404-727-0827 (fax)

cpalazz@emory.edu
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322