Skip to main content

Political Science 394: Policing, Imprisonment, and Politics (#polimppol): Newspapers

Newspapers

Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic Universe)
Full-text access to news, business, medical, educational and legal sources. The sources include international, national, and regional newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; wire service reports; and transcripts of television and radio news programs.

Newsbank Access World News

Access World News coverage includes domestic newspapers, international newspapers, news wires, transcripts, and broadcasts, including 16 Georgia newspapers. All titles are the full electronic version of record.

PressDisplay provides access to the full-text of the last 60 days of over a thousand newspapers throughout the world, including the U.S.

Check out "Capital Punishment" topic from the New York Times. It leads to lots of articles from the NYT and a list of important websites. Other useful topics are "Crime and Criminals" and "Prisons and Prisoners."  Full list of NYT topics.

Need to locate additional papers?

Use Databases@Emory's newspaper guide to identify news databases and individual online newspapers.

Use How do I find Newspapers? to find more information on finding newspapers at Emory in various formats.

For various sources for Atlanta newspapers use Atlanta Newspaper Guide.

Outside the mainstream press:

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full-text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those found in the mainstream press. Selected coverage back to 1959.

TIP: The sources above list subscription databases or newspapers which are only available to the Emory community. In many cases they are digital versions of a print paper. Don't forget that most newspapers also maintain a web site which can be located in Google or other web browsers.

 

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322