Skip to main content

Course Guide to CHN/EAS/HIST 279W: China after 1976: How to Find Journal and Newspaper Articles

This Course Guide is created for Prof. Jia-Chen Fu's class. It provides students with library resources that relate to the class subject topic and aims.

Searching E-Journals

Besides the printed journals in the Matheson Reading Room, here are the E-journals related to your class:

1. Country Report: China

2. China Quarterly

3. China Today

4. China Review

5. The China Journal

6.  Journal of Contemporary China

7.  Modern China Studies

8.  Harvard China Review

Newspapers

 

You can find these newspapers and many more in our library's collections:

1. China Daily

2. Shanghai Daily

3. Global Times

4. South China Morning Post

5. World Newspaper Archive

6. World News Connection

7.  Press Display

8.  China Core Newspaper Database

 

Locating Articles

 

The Library also subscribes to subject related online databases, some of them cover the journal articles in the subject areas related to your class:

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

JSTOR

JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

The Bibliography of Asian Studies indexes all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.  The online version contains references to books (through 1992), journals, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften.  Coverage: 1971 to present.

Proquest Database

 

Contains the following databases: ABI/Inform Global, Business Dateline, Dissertation Abstracts, National Newspapers, and Research Library. These databases can be searched individually or simultaneously.

China Data Online

China Data Online is a collection of data on economics, demographics, and other such topics.  Data are available for China as a whole and for individual provinces, counties, and cities.  Depending on the topic and geographic area, data are available in annual, quarterly, or monthly increments.

Coverage: 1949 onwards, varying by topic and geographic area.

 

Subject Guide

Guo-Hua Wang's picture
Guo-Hua Wang
Contact:
404-727-0411

Databases in Chinese

China Academic Journals 中国学术杂志

This full text journal article database contains more than 8,200 journal titles, covering the period of time from 1915 to the present.  Search words should be Chinese characters.

China Local Gazetteers 地方志

This is a unique database developed just by Wanfang Data. It is a comprehensive collection of Chinese local gazetteers covering all regions of China. As of Feb. 2014, there are over 26,400 volumes of full-text titles in this database.

Policies and Laws of China 法律库

PLOC is a comprehensive collection of full-text Chinese legislation, jurisdictions, cases, official announcements and treaties published after 1949. As of Feb. 2014, there are over 610,000 records in the database.

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322