Skip to main content

Course Guide to EAS450W: East Asian Heritage Language Learning and Teaching: How to Find Journal, Newspaper Articles and Documentary Films and Movies

This Course Guide is created for Dr. Yun Kim's class. It provides students with library resources that relate to class topic and project.

Locating Articles


The Library also subscribes to subject related online databases, some of them cover the journal articles in the subject areas related to your class:

Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.


JSTOR (Journal Storage Project) contains the complete text of 332 prominent scholarly journals in history, political science and Asian Studies.  Not only is the text of all articles available online but every word of every article in all journals can be searched.  Some titles go back to the nineteenth century (the earliest Asian studies journals goes back to 1928) but most end five years before the current date.

Project MUSE

Another database providing the full text of articles from 160 journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science ...  It includes the journal Late Imperial China.

Bibliography of Asian Studies

The Bibliography of Asian Studies indexes all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.  The online version contains references to books (through 1992), journals, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings, anthologies, and Festschriften.  Coverage: 1971 to present.

Proquest Database


Contains the following databases: ABI/Inform Global, Business Dateline, Dissertation Abstracts, National Newspapers, and Research Library. These databases can be searched individually or simultaneously.

Subject Guide

Guo-Hua Wang's picture
Guo-Hua Wang

Documentary Films and Movies

The Library has some documentary films and movies relate to your class topic, such as:

1.  Searching for Go-Hyang DVD 19195

2.  The Summer Palace the secret gardens of the last emperors of China DVD 20137

3.  Miryang Secret sunshine DVD 16871

4.  Japanese language and people V.CASS VHS 4872 PT.2

5.  Connecting traditions.  The Spirit of the Rice Field Online access

© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322