Skip to main content

Economics 411: Money and Banking: Federal Reserve and Treasury Information

Federal Reserve

The Federal Reserve is the central bank for the United States and was established in 1913.  The head of the Fed is the chairman of the Board of Governors committee, currently Ben Bernanke.  Members of the board serve a 14 year term.

There are 12 Federal Reserve districts consisting of 12 banks and 25 branches.

  • Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System
    This is the official website for the Federal Reserve. It contains information on:
    *Monetary Policy
    *Banking Information and Regulation
    *Payment Systems
    *Consumer Information
    *Reporting Forms
    *Research and Economic Data
  • Federal Open Market Committee
    Membership of this committee consists of the seven members of the Board of Governors and five of the twelve Federal Reserve Bank presidents.

    "The FOMC holds eight regularly scheduled meetings per year. At these meetings, the Committee reviews economic and financial conditions, determines the appropriate stance of monetary policy, and assesses the risks to its long-run goals of price stability and sustainable economic growth."
  • FRB: Economic and Research Data
    This section of the Federal Reserve website contains a wealth of information and statistics on money, banking finance, and exchange rates. 

    The site contains data sets, historical statistics, working papers, surveys reports and other research.
  • Federal Reserve Bulletin
    The full-text of this title is freely available from 1996-present. It contains summaries of actions by the FOMC, research reports, announcements and Federal Reserve policy changes.

    The Library has this title available in print from 1913-2003 in the government documents collection. The SudDoc number is FR 1.3:
  • Federal Reserve System: Purposes and Functions
    This 146 page books discusses the roles, duties and functions of the Federal Reserve.
  • FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)
    This database provides datasets for U.S. economic and financial data.

Federal Reserve Banks

Each district has their own website.  While some of the information may be dupicative, each district has unique content relevant to their district.

  • 1st District - Boston
    Covers Connecticut (excluding Fairfield County), Massachusetts, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Vermont
  • 2nd District - New York
    New York State, twelve counties in northern New Jersey, Fairfield County in Connecticut, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands
  • 3rd District - Philadelphia
    Includes Delaware, southern New Jersey, and eastern Pennsylvania.
  • 4th District -Cleveland
    Covers Ohio, western Pennsylvania, eastern Kentucky, and the northern panhandle of West Virginia.
  • 5th District -Richmond
    Covers Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and most of West Virginia
  • 6th District -Atlanta
    Alabama, Florida, Georgia, and parts of Louisiana, Mississippi, and Tennessee
  • 7th District -Chicago
    Covers Iowa and most of Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, and Wisconsin
  • 8th District - St. Louis
    Covers Arkansas and portions of six other states: Missouri, Mississippi, Tennessee, Kentucky, Indiana, and Illinois
  • 9th District - Minneapolis
    Covers Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, twenty-six counties in northwestern Wisconsin, and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan
  • 10th District - Kansas City
    Covers Colorado, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma, Wyoming, northern New Mexico, and Western Missouri
  • 11th District - Dallas
    Covers Texas, northern Louisiana, and southern New Mexico
  • 12th District - San Francisco
    Covers Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington and American Samoa, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands


"The Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC) is an independent agency created by the Congress to maintain stability and public confidence in the nation's financial system by:

  • insuring deposits,
  • examining and supervising financial institutions for safety and soundness and consumer protection, and
  • managing receiverships."

It was created in 1933 in response to the bank failures that occurred in the late 1920s and early 1930s.  They insure at least $250,000 per depositor to insure that bank customers do not lose their savings as a result of bank failure.


  • FDIC
    This is the official website for the FDIC. This site includes information that about:
    *Depository insurance
    *Consumer protection
    *Industry analysis
    *Asset sales
  • FDIC Statistics on Banking
    This is a quarterly publication that collects data on commercial banks and savings institutions back to 1992.

Subject Guide

Chris Palazzolo's picture
Chris Palazzolo
226 Woodruff Library

Emory University

Atlanta, GA 30322

404-727-0143 (phone)

404-727-0827 (fax)
© Emory University Libraries - 540 Asbury Circle, Atlanta, Georgia 30322